I read about stories, true stories of some of my brethren and I wonder…that is not how the story should have ended. Shouldn’t those who know God have it all smooth, I mean why should it be the one who overcame mental disability and grew serving God die, while the one without any disability who turned his back on God live…these thoughts have a way of leaving a sour taste in my mind and heart.
I am sure it’s the same human reasoning at play when a friend says “we waited, married as virgins, have diligently served the Lord and yet 3 years down the road with no known medical issues we are childless, yet the ones we looked upon with spiritual disdain as they played life have married and have kids.”
So very justified with this reasoning patterns we begrudge God for not living in accordance with our expectations. For failing to keep His part of the deal (that only we are sure was made!) but there was never any such deal.
Seriously!
No were in His Word did He promise that if we served Him diligently we would be free of the pains and hurts and heartbreaks those who did not serve Him experienced. At no time did He promise us that if we married as virgins we are sure to have kids. Though He did say none shall be barren in the land though it had a proviso: diligentlyworship Him and sin not, Exodus 23:20-26. Then why do His children who have kept proviso still go on years without a child, a biological child of their own… I don’t know.
I have come to understand though that the thoughts of man are soo very different from Gods. We can never understand God through human reasoning, just as we will not get the answers to All our whys on this side of heaven. God never promised us sun without rains, laughter without tears, love without heartbreaks but He did promise us that He’ll always be with us through all circumstances.
You know its soo human to be mad at God when we “think” he has failed to meet up with our expectations…whatever they may be. That does not mean we are justified in our choice of emotions. The vantage point we choose to look from to make our decisions and base our choices upon is very important as Children of God… for His thoughts are higher than ours. We learn to think like God through the imbibing of the Word and letting the Holy Spirit lead, teach, reproach, comfort us..simply be in our lives.
I most definitely would never be able to explain why some things happen the way they do (so glad about this!) but in all, I’ve learned to know never will he leave me or forsake me.
So to Him I turn on the days am upset with the ending of the story that didn’t end the way I thought it should. May I always remember to lose myself in His unfailing arms that promise to ever hold me in spite of whether I get the ending I think is perfect or not.

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the Lord. Isaiah 55:8
…”And surely I am with you always, to the very end of age,” Matthew 28: 20b
…”because God has said, “Never will I leave you; never will i forsake you.” Hebrews 13:5b
Copyright © 18th May, 2011.

