Recently I noticed a trend in my 7 year old niece, the first words she will have to say every morning is always a statement or question asking for something. If she discovers she can get it from another source she says nothing to me until a need demands she speak to me.

So I turn the search light to me….do I trust I treat my family and friends this way? Worse still do I relate with God in this manner? To say am glad the answer is a no, is trying to be humble.

You try and search yourself, do you treat God like a genie in a bottle, lamp etc? only to be spoken to when you have a need? After all the Bible says asks and you shall receive, so whenever we speak to God, not speak with Him, we are making demands: God, please change my boss? Dear God, help me deal with my spouse? Father you said ask and we will receive, so am asking a new car won’t be a bad gift?…the list is endless

As much as God desires to bless us with good things, He desires even greater that we be friends with Him. Taking out time daily to speak with Him, as we share the minutes of our day with Him.

Our God is so many things…so many beautiful things, but one thing He surely is not, is a genie. Pause and spend time with God, not asking for anything but gisting with Him, just loving on Him. He longs to hear from you

My heart has heard you say, “come and talk with me.” And my heart responds, “Lord, I am coming.”Psalm 27:8

But then I will win her back once again, I will lead her into the desert and speak tenderly to her there. Hosea 2:14

Unpublished work of Itsetosan 11th August, 2011

