It’s much easier to rip things apart than to put them together I’ve fully come to realise. Spotting the faults of another seems to come more naturally than seeing the strengths in others. Yet this has been the worst route to take to bring about change in another.
To choose to build up through encouraging the strengths and grooming the potentials is the life the Father has called us all to live. It’s a choice we get to choose daily, to walk in love for peace with the brethren. To make for the things that bind us together be our focus; would be to share the contagious joy of our Father which never leaves either side the same.

A while back I went out with a friend and on our return journey we hooked up with her friends and their friends. Conversation was borne out of an offer to eat roasted pork. I shook my head, shook my mind, spirit, soul and body and promptly said No, it is not healthy for my body, and if it is not healthy for me, the same goes for you. We all being “Bible scholars” on some level, pushed the conversation to Leviticus: to eat or not.

With each affirmation for to eat, I grew stronger on to not eat and shamefully, critical of the ‘to eats’; didn’t feel shameful about it then though. We did get to part with “airs”

That’s just one of many conversations I’ve had with siblings that left neither of us better in Christ. I do know I left feeling like something did not quite sit with me on the stance I took. Never got the chance to redo or undo that.

Today gently and firmly I got to know that the routes my conversations take are always to build up and leave both sides refreshed. Correction in love does that, being critical of another does not do that.

Those who feel free to eat anything must not look down on those who don’t. And those who don’t eat certain foods must not condemn those who do, for God has accepted them Romans 14: 3

So then, let us aim for harmony in the church and try to build each other up. Romans 14:19

Do not tear apart the work of God over what you eat. Remember, all foods are acceptable, but it is wrong to eat anything if it makes another person stumble. It is better not to eat meat or drink wine or anything else if it might cause another believer to stumble. Romans 14:20, 21

But if you have doubts about whether or not you should eat something you are sinning if you go ahead and do it. For you are not following your convictions id you do anything you believe is not right, you are sinning. Romans 14:23

Itse Tosan  ©  23rd November 2011

