Whitney Houston was one of my first encounters with the world of music, I recall me dancing as often as I heard the song “Wanna dance with somebody who loves me”. I never got weary of the music. Her duets with CeCe Winans on Count on Me left a lasting touch on me. Same with her performance with Mariah Carey on “when you believe”…of Course I loved her performance in Preachers’ wife and the tracks.

You were here for a short while…48years, yet you made your mark. I recall getting upset with her choice of hubby, yet loving her resolve to make it work irrespective of what anyone had to say. I still told myself that I would be like her when I grow up…she had maintained a figure I sure appreciated.

You were an inspiration, I used your songs and voice to train mine for years. Your smile, your laugh lite up your whole being…I did agree with all the lines in the songs you sang, but I loved the way you gave them your all…
Your passion for what you believed was contagiously undeniable. Your dress sense was no exception! Your voice, your songs would always be an inspiration; I still get teary eyes when i recall you are gone.

Whiney Houston, ever in my heart.
6 August 1963- 11 February 2012.

 

 

©  Itse Tosan 13th February 2012

