It is so very easy to point out to someone else an issue I have with them. Of late I’d found myself having to think “people are to loved and things to be used” each time I recall a close acquaintance. And with each thought I got upset at the notion of being needed only when she needed something. Turning to me, it hit me hard; I truly have to plead guilty. My actions towards another where the very reflection of what my close acquaintance did.

I simply refuse to make a case for my actions – I am guilty of a crime that I’ve accused another of, a crime I had hoped to never commit…talk and not walking. Pharisaical behaviour I must say. So retrace my steps I must.

Why do you look at the speck of saw dust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eyes? How can you say to your brother, “Let me take the speck out of your eye, when all the time there is a plank in your own eye? You hypocrite first take the plank out of your own eye and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye. Matthew 7:3-5

© Itse Tosan 16th January 2012

