The keke maruwa I got after walking all the way to the road from the gate of my Estate does not mean He is bound to make a way in the same manner a week later. Being who I am, it takes a very conscious effort to not limit His coming through for me today by the same methods He used yesterday. He is a God of variety.

I am learning to have a daily bread attitude in regards to my expectations of God towards the challenge of each day. He always comes through for me…in the most humbling ways. My premptive attitude does not limit Him, it simply ‘seems’ to delay Him. For I am staring intently at the west, while from the east He is moving.

So with each challenge I face daily, my first call is asking what would you have me do? The usual norm or extraordinaire. Giving Him free rein leaves me better off and ever grateful.

The other day I got on with my plan, yet pleading silently, you know I need you to come through for me…I truly did though I proceeded to work on my own way out pending His arrival. He did come, right in the middle of my plan and left me gratefully short of words.

There are still days, moments actually I start off looking for the response to the challenge I face and then pause as I recall: my first call is and should always be Jehovah Roi – The lord my God who sees me! I know He delights to see me (His daughter) call to Him first when I have issues that appear to murderously strong. It is me living my words of ‘I trust you’ out…all I can say is am learning, daily i pinch myself to be a good student.

When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze. Isaiah 43: 2

PS: when I say it seems to delay Him, at the point I let Him come through on His terms it seems like I’ve been delayed yet when all is said and done, as I look back to recall it all and/or when I step pass the challenge, I realise I was on time, there was actually no delay.

© Itse Tosan 9th February 2012

