Rehoboam did what was evil, because he did not determine in his heart to seek the Lord. II Chronicles 12: 14

Going through the Bible, I have come to understand that the state of my heart is so very important to God and me. Actually, eventually others, for it determines the way I interact with them. My words, actions, choices are all overt indications of what lies in the hidden organ of mine, it is the womb that carries and nurtures all I do and say.

Daniel determined that he would not defile himself with the King’s food or with the wine he drank. So he asked permission from the chief official not to defile himself. Daniel 1: 8.

Guard your heart above all else, for it is the source of life Proverbs 4:23

The decisions I take in the womb that produces my character goes a long way to determine the route I take. It is the yardstick by which I allow certain actions or situations in my life or call normal. Mindset it is called.

So I determine from now to watch the state of my heart under God (of course that is letting the Holy Spirit help me big time!). Also what I allow get into the womb that births my character is under watch. For those things also influence the principles that I allow shape my life.

The things let into the heart via the eyes and ear gates are important. What you watching? What are you reading? What are you listening to? Are they aiding your walk in the centre of God’s will or moving you out of it.

What is the state of your heart? It determines the route of your life; let it be guided by the Word of Life and the Holy Spirit promptings.

© Itse Tosan 13th August 2012

