Better is the end of a thing than the beginning thereof is a biblical saying I have become fond off over the years. It is serving as a reminder to me that the way I end anything is important, for me more important than the beginning thereof. For the end determines if every other thing done has been a waste of my priceless life or not.

The beginning is good but the end even better. Reading about the reign of King Asa of Israel got me thinking seriously. His first 36 years as king challenged me. It got Him God’s full backing, rest from wars. Something happened afterwards which I never got to know about but saw in his actions. He shifted his dependence, which was recorded as wholehearted, completely on God to the arm of flesh: man. That was the state in which he died: relying on man.

Now for me this is sort of scary. Since he had worked with God, seen Him: God move on his: Asa’s behalf time after time for 36 years. He turned to man. I began to ponder: did he forget all of God’s deeds and ways? Did he get so comfortable with God that he felt it was ok to shift on whom he depended? Really, it may be me making such a costly mistake….we are all prone to whatever spurred his decision.

Then again he was reprimanded by God through prophets. Did he repent? No, he got angry and made more wrong choices…. God please help me! Let my end always be pleasing to you, one you would look upon and call good.

The end of matter is better than its beginning; a patient spirit is better than a proud spirit Ecclesiastes 7:8

When a righteous person turns from his righteousness and practices iniquity he will die for this. He will die because of the iniquity he has practiced. But if a wicked person turns from the wickedness he has committed and does what is just and right, he will preserve his life Ezekiel 18: 26, 27

© Itse Tosan 13th August 2012

