I cringe each time I hear of another soul lost to suicide. It seems like the solution to the problems the one who chose it had. Yet I doubt it was the solution. To take one’s life is to say: God I do not trust you to come through for me on this one so let me handle it. To choose life is to purpose in your heart, that irrespective of what may happen, you will enjoy your life on a day to day basis. For Jesus Christ came that you might have life and have it abundantly. It is to believe that not only can it get better, but that it would get better.

The number of teenagers and preteens choosing suicide as the solution to being teased seems to increase daily each time I surf the internet. Do they know? Do they understand the implication of their actions? To pick suicide is a vote for death both here and eternally. sadly this choice of suicide seems to be on the increase in my country, whence it came from I know not. It cuts across different ages, socio economic lines and religion.

There is hope for a man who lives. Once you’ve died there is no room for repentance or overcoming the problems. But for him who is joined to all the living there is hope, for a living dog is better than a dead lion. Years ago we had these options placed before us…life and death, the consequences where given and an advice. Chose life God encouraged, that both you and your seed might live Deut 30:19.
The choices we make do not affect us alone; it always rubs off on those around us.

Today I have given you the choice between life and death, between blessings and curses. Now I call on heaven and earth to witness the choice you make. Oh, that you would choose life, so that you and your descendants might live! Deuteronomy 30:19

Itse Tosan copyright.

