David, He gave for a witness. Jesus Christ is the faithful witness. By two or three witnesses a matter or thing is established*. Thus, all the other prophets, bible characters and apostles were given to us for a witness for something.

Going with the established principle makes me to know that I also have been given for a witness. This knowing is further buttressed by the so great a cloud of witness that compass me about as I run my race.

What have I been given for as a witness? What am I witnessing? From scriptures I have understood that David was a witness of God’s mercies. It is written ‘the sure mercies of David’. Elisha was a witness of prayer that prayer works. Abraham was a witness of faith. The list is pretty long.

I wonder if while they walked this side of eternity they were aware of the role they played. We do not only have a better covenant of Grace, we have precedents and principles handed down to us through the infallible word of God.

Pause and check: what does your life witness about God? What message is it leaving for the generations to come?

*Moses, Matthew and Paul = Deuteronomy 19:15, Matthew 18:16 and 2 Corinthians 13:1

© 20 March, 2014

