A friend and I got into a friendly banter on blackberry messenger chat this morning. Had requested that she bring African salad for me to rehearsals on Saturday by 7am, to which she said impossible.

Told her there’s no such thing as impossible, and she said otherwise. As we bantered, she then stated it exists in her dictionary as it is impossible to serve the devil.

As i told her that it was a possibility but one we do not wish to attain, she then listed impossibilities: bow to the devil, road prostitution, murder. I then requested she define murder and she said taking another’s life willingly.

At this point everything had taken on a different view point for me. It was no longer about the banter, but about how I saw things. I shared murder as defined by Matthew 5:22. The question at that point to me was: whose definition are you using?

You see as children of God, we are called to live for Him, His purpose. As His ambassadors our marching orders are based on what obtains in heaven. For we are in this world but not of it. We are sons of God because we are led by the Spirit.

For who defines our words, shapes our choices, actions and invariably our lives. How we see defines how we receive and how we get. So the real question regarding my everyday seconds is an expression of whose definition I am guided by.

Today with each choice and decision you make, remember the definer determines your future.

© 22nd October, 2015

