Once I got into a heated discussion with fellow choristers in our vestry. One of us had opined that children raised right stayed right. And that even if they strayed they always come back to the right track because God’s word of train a child… when he is old he would not depart from it cannot be voided. I was of the opinion that a child raised right stayed right by God’s grace. And in some sad cases, some children never made it back home like the lost son.

So we had people pick their sides through varying opinions. Insisting that children raised right could easily stray because they had freewill is a major factor we all must acknowledge. I doubt there are any parents who raise their children thinking they just might stray.

We never shifted from our positions though we all did acquiesce that free will plays a role in a child’s life. Though we just could not understand how a child raised right got lost. Of course one may debate what we mean by raised right. For us raised right is in line with train up a child in the way he should go and when he is old he would not depart from it.

In the course of my study of Isaiah 1, it hit me suddenly that even God experienced same. God Himself, this my mind could not quite comprehend. The All knowing, All Seeing God raised children and they rebelled… how? He said, ‘I raised children (sons) and brought them up, but they have rebelled against me’

My thoughts flowed: if God’s children could do this and still do it, hian! Would I ever understand how children well raised turn out wrong? I doubt I would. Is there any sense of comfort knowing God experienced same? A little. It is a scary thought that not only is it possible for them to rebel, but scarier that some of them never turn back and die in their rebellion, just as some of God’s children did.

Does that make one less of a good parent? Thankfully it does not. For God did not cease to be God because some of His children rebelled and then some never looked back. Just as I might never understand it, so do the guilty verdict stares and glances from others on parents whose children have rebelled show the world might never understand it, they don’t need to.

I still believe good children are the working of the God, yes raising them right is key but that, even that does not keep a child good. – only a child who allows God keep Him can be kept.

© 30th May, 2016

